Ransomware

Ransomware (also known as encryption Trojans or blackmail Trojans) are a specific family of malware which encrypts data on the victim's computer and on network shares, thereby making the data unusable for the victim. The ransomware subsequently displays a "locked screen" to the victim requesting that the victim pay a specific sum in the form of bitcoins (internet currency) to the attackers so that the data can be decrypted. The ransomware scene is continually expanding and the current versions are potentially much more damaging than the initial versions, which just blocked the screen without damaging data. The gateway for encryption Trojans such as these are contaminated e-mails and hacked websites.

Effects and risks

  • Rendering data unusable on the computer
  • Financial loss in the event of payment of the ransom
Measures
 

Preventive measures

  • Regularly make a backup of your data. The backup should be stored offline, i.e. on an external medium such as an external hard disk. Thus make sure that the medium where the backup is saved is disconnected from the computer after the back-up procedure is complete. Otherwise data on the back-up medium might be encrypted and rendered unusable in the event of a ransomware attack.
  • Operating systems as well as all applications installed on the computer (e.g. Adobe Reader, Adobe Flash, Sun Java, etc.) must be updated consistently, and preferably with the automatic update function if available.
  • Always be careful with suspicious emails, emails which you receive unexpectedly or which come from unknown senders. Do not follow the instructions in the text, do not open any attachments and do not click on any links.
  • Always keep your virus protection up to date. If you use virus protection which is subject to a charge, always ensure that the subscription is renewed for an additional year. Otherwise the virus protection will expire and be of no use.
  • A personal firewall must be installed and kept up to date.

 

Measures to be taken after a successful attack

  • In the event of an infection, we recommend that you immediately disconnect the computer from all networks. It is essential that the system should be reinstalled following this and that all passwords should be changed.
  • After cleaning the computer, the back-up data (if available) can then be restored. If no data backup is available, it is advisable to retain the encrypted data and to save it so that it could possibly be decrypted at some later date in case a solution is found.
  • In all cases, MELANI recommends bringing the incident to the attention of the Cybercrime Coordination Unit Switzerland (CYCO) and reporting the case to the local police.
  • Refrain from paying a ransom because this will only strengthen the criminal infrastructure and thereby allow criminals to blackmail other victims. In addition, there is no guarantee that the key for decryption will be provided.

 

For companies MELANI recommends the following in addition to the measures outlined above: 

  • You can obtain additional protection against malware (such as ransomware) for your IT infrastructure by using the Windows AppLocker. By using the Windows AppLocker, you can specify which programmes can be run on the computers in your company.
  • By using the Microsoft Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) you can prevent known and unknown vulnerabilities in software used in your company from being exploited and used for installing malware for example.
  • Block the receipt of dangerous email attachments at your email gateway. These include among others:

 

.js (JavaScript)
.jar (Java)
.bat (Batch file)
.exe (Windows executable)
.cpl (Control Panel)
.scr (Screensaver)
.com (COM file)
.pif (Program Information File)
.vbs (Visual Basic Script)
.ps1 (Windows PowerShell)

  • At the start of March 2016, abuse.ch published a ransomware tracker which recognises several ransomware families and provides block lists which can be used by any internet user.
  • Make sure that dangerous email attachments such as these are also blocked if they are sent to recipients in your company in archive files such as ZIP, RAR or even in encrypted archive files (e.g. in a password-protected ZIP file).
  • In addition, all email attachments containing macros (e.g. Word, Excel or PowerPoint attachments which contain macros) should be blocked.


Consult the MELANI factsheet on ICT security for SMEs (not available in English) and the ten-point programme to increase ICT security on the Confederation's portal for SMEs: Security precautions for the IT infrastructure of SMEs (not available in English). 

Example

In 2015, the Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance MELANI observed various waves of ransomware attacks and issued warnings. Among these was the encryption malware TeslaCrypt which is currently still active. This malware, which encrypts data and subsequently demands ransom money, has been spreading rapidly in Switzerland since December. The new variant is spread mainly via infected email attachments (a ".zip" attachment which contains a ".js" file). Once it is installed, TeslaCrypt encrypts files on the computer (e.g. photos and Excel or Word files). The victim subsequently receives a message containing a demand for money from the criminals. In return for the money, the victim should receive the decryption key for recovering the
files. Various antivirus products can counter this malware. However, it is too late in most cases because the files on the computer have already been encrypted. In this case, the problem is thus not removing the malware, but recovering the original data.

Last modification 28.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/en/home/themen/Ransomware.html

Rançongiciels

Les chevaux de Troie verrouillant les données, appelés aussi rançongiciels, appartiennent à une famille particulière de logiciels malveillants (maliciels) qui chiffrent les données sur l'ordinateur de la victime ainsi que sur les lecteurs réseau auxquels cet ordinateur est relié, ce qui les rend inutilisables pour la victime. Les rançongiciels font alors afficher un écran verrouillé demandant à la victime de payer une certaine somme sous forme de bitcoins (une monnaie virtuelle) pour déverrouiller les données. La liste des logiciels de chantage ne cesse de s’allonger et les versions actuelles ont un potentiel de nuisance bien plus élevé que les premières versions, lesquelles se contentaient de bloquer l’écran. Ces chevaux de Troie accèdent à l'ordinateur par le biais de courriels infectés ou de sites Internet piratés.

Incidences et risques

  • Données de l'ordinateur rendues inutilisables
  • Dommages financiers en cas de paiement d'une rançon
Mesures

Mesures préventives

  • Veillez à effectuer des sauvegardes régulières de vos données importantes sur un support externe (par ex. un disque dur externe). Après la sauvegarde, veillez à déconnecter de l'ordinateur le support contenant les données sauvegardées, sans quoi ces données pourront également être verrouillées et rendues inutilisables en cas d'infection de l'ordinateur par un rançongiciel.
  • Il convient de toujours maintenir à jour son système d'exploitation et toutes les applications  installées sur son ordinateur (par ex. Adobe Reader, Adobe Flash, Sun Java), de manière automatique lorsque cela est possible.
  • Il convient d'être toujours extrêmement prudent en présence de courriels suspects, inattendus ou provenant d'un expéditeur inconnu: ne suivez pas les recommandations figurant dans le texte, ne cliquez pas sur les liens indiqués et n'ouvrez pas les documents joints au courriel.
  • Veillez à ce que votre antivirus soit à jour. Si vous disposez d'un antivirus payant, pensez à prolonger l'abonnement chaque année, sans quoi l'antivirus sera inutile.
  • Un pare-feu (firewall) personnel doit être installé et régulièrement mis à jour.


Mesures après l'infection de l'ordinateur

  • En cas d'infection, il est recommandé de déconnecter immédiatement l'ordinateur de tous les réseaux. Une réinstallation du système et un changement de tous les mots de passes sont bien entendu nécessaires.
  • Une fois ces mesures prises, il sera possible de restaurer les données à partir de copies de sauvegarde si ces dernières existent. S'il n'existe aucune sauvegarde, nous recommandons de conserver les fichiers chiffrés en vue d’une éventuelle solution future qui pourrait permettre de les déchiffrer.
  • En tous les cas, MELANI conseille à la victime de signaler l'incident au Service national de coordination de la lutte contre la criminalité sur Internet (SCOCI) et de porter plainte auprès des services de police locaux.
  • Ne cédez pas à l’extorsion car, en payant la rançon, vous participez au financement de l’activité des criminels et leur permettez d’améliorer l’efficacité de leurs prochaines attaques. De plus, il n’existe aucune garantie que les criminels respecteront leur engagement et vous enverront réellement la clé vous permettant de récupérer vos données. 

 

MELANI suggère aux entreprises d'appliquer les mesures supplémentaires suivantes:

  • Vous pouvez renforcer la protection de votre infrastructure informatique contre les maliciels (tels que les rançongiciels) en utilisant le programme Windows AppLocker. Celui-ci vous permettra de définir les programmes qui pourront être ouverts sur les ordinateurs au sein de votre entreprise.
  • Le programme EMET de Microsoft (Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit) permet d'éviter que les failles de sécurité aussi bien connues qu'inconnues de logiciels exploités dans votre entreprise ne puissent favoriser l'installation d'un maliciel.
  • Bloquez la réception de courriels contenant des fichiers dangereux sur votre passerelle de messagerie. Sont dangereux notamment les fichiers. 

 

.js (JavaScript)
.jar (Java)
.bat (Batch file)
.exe (Windows executable)
.cpl (Control Panel)
.scr (Screensaver)
.com (COM file)
.pif (Program Information File)
.vbs (Visual Basic Script)
.ps1 (Windows PowerShell)

  • Depuis le début du mois de mars 2016, abuse.ch met à la disposition de tous les utilisateurs d'Internet un traqueur capable de reconnaître différentes familles de rançongiciels, ainsi que des listes de blocage. 
  • Veillez à ce que ces fichiers soient également bloqués lorsqu'ils sont envoyés dans un fichier d'archive tel qu'un fichier ZIP ou RAR ou dans un fichier crypté (par ex. un fichier ZIP protégé par un mot de passe).
  • Par ailleurs, il faudrait bloquer tous les fichiers joints contenant des macros (par ex. Word, Excel ou PowerPoint contenant des macros).

 

Consultez  le document de MELANI «Sécurité informatique: aide-mémoire pour les PME» ainsi que le programme en dix points visant à accroître la sécurité informatique sur le portail PME de la Confédération «Sécuriser son infrastructure informatique» 

 

Exemple

En 2015, MELANI a relevé plusieurs vagues d'infections avec des rançongiciels et mis en garde contre ces derniers. Font partie de ces rançongiciels le logiciel de verrouillage TeslaCrypt, qui est encore actif. Depuis le mois de décembre, les maliciels qui verrouillent les données et exigent le paiement d’une rançon se répandent rapidement en Suisse. La dernière variante se propage principalement à travers des fichiers infectés joints à des courriels (fichiers «.zip» contenant un fichier «.js»). Une fois installé, TeslaCrypt chiffre les fichiers présents sur l'ordinateur (tels que les photos, les fichiers Excel ou Word). La victime voit ensuite un message s'afficher sur son écran. Dans ce dernier, les criminels exigent le paiement d'une somme d'argent dans un laps de temps donné en échange de la clé de déchiffrement permettant de récupérer les données. De nombreux antivirus réagissent à ce maliciel, mais il est souvent déjà trop tard, car les fichiers se trouvant sur l'ordinateur ont déjà été chiffrés. Le problème principal n'est alors pas de se débarrasser du maliciel, mais bien de réaccéder à ses données.

Dernière modification 05.07.2017

Début de la page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/fr/home/themen/Ransomware.html