CEO-Fraud

CEO fraud occurs when perpetrators instruct the accounting or finance department in the name of the CEO to make a payment to the (typically foreign) ac-count of the scammers. Generally, the instruction is sent from a spoofed email address. But there have also been cases in which compromised real email addresses were used. The reasons given for the payment instruction differ, but the payment is usually claimed to be urgent and extremely sensitive (such as an acquisition). A consultant or a bogus or compro-mised law firm are often also part of the scenario. The attackers know exactly how they can use a supposedly urgent situation to put pressure on the employees in question so that they make the payment while circumventing any procedural requirements.

Social networks are a gold mine for obtaining initial information about the company. LinkedIn is especially interesting for scammers because profiles contain information on business rela-tionships or the identity and function of employees. Commercial registers or even company websites may provide useful information too. If the requisite information is not available online, the scammers make contact by phone to obtain information. There have also been cases in which a fax with the official letterhead of a public administration has been sent to get at the company's information. The desired data mainly includes the email addresses of employees in the accounting department whom the scammers have targeted to make the payments in the end. Using the information from these initial contacts, targeted emails are then sent containing information that is plausible for the company in question.
Scammers mainly use domain names similar to a company's to send out emails that may at first glance appear authentic. Using email addresses from these do-mains, the scammers wanted to trick recipients into believing that the emails were from real companies.

Effects and risks

  • Deception
  • loss of considerable sums of money Verlust  

 

Mesures

It is virtually impossible to prevent fraudulent emails of this kind from being sent. The scammers conceal their identity and background and can change addresses at any time as needed. The most important recommendation for prevention is therefore to raise employees' awareness, especially in positions such as accounting and finance that are targeted for this type of fraud. The following basic rule should be observed:

  • Do not give out information to unusual or dubious contacts, and do not follow any instructions in such cases even if under pressure.
  • All companies should check what information about the company is available online.
  • Procedures should be defined that all employees have to follow at all times. We recommend requiring collective signatures for money transfers.
 

Last modification 13.09.2017

Top of page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/en/home/themen/CEO-Fraud.html

CEO-Fraud

On parle de l’arnaque au président (CEO Fraud) quand l’identité d’un dirigeant d’entreprise est usurpée et le service compétent (service financier, comptabilité) est prié en son nom de procéder à un versement sur un compte (typiquement) à l’étranger. La plupart du temps, la demande est effectuée depuis une adresse courriel falsifiée, mais des cas de compromission d’un compte existant ont aussi été observés. Les raisons invoquées varient, mais incluent souvent une opération financière urgente et extrêmement sensible (acquisition notamment). Le recours à un consultant ou à un cabinet d’avocat factice ou dont l’identité a également été usurpée peut intervenir dans le scénario. Les attaquants savent mettre une pression importante sur l’employé visé, prétextant une situation urgente, pour le contraindre à effectuer le versement et parfois à contourner les processus existants.

Les réseaux sociaux facilitent grandement la recherche initiale d’informations. LinkedIn est particulièrement intéressant pour les escrocs, qui y recherchent par exemple des informations sur les relations commerciales ou l’identité et la fonction des employés. Le registre du commerce, ou tout simplement le site web de l’entreprise, peuvent également contenir de précieux renseignements. Si les informations nécessaires à monter l’escroquerie ne sont pas disponibles en ligne, les criminels peuvent procéder à de premières prises de contact par téléphone. Des fax à l’entête d'administrations publiques ont parfois été envoyés. Parmi les informations recherchées figurent notamment les coordonnées précises des employés du département comptabilité, puisque c’est au final vers eux que seront dirigées les demandes frauduleuses de virement. Ces premières prises de contact permettront d’envoyer des courriels extrêmement ciblés, présentant des situations tout à fait plausibles pour l’entreprise visée.
Pour envoyer des courriels ayant une apparente légitimité, les escrocs utilisent notamment des noms de domaines proches de celui de l’entreprise cible. En envoyant des courriels depuis ces domaines, les escrocs cherchent à tromper le destinataire, qui pensera être en contact avec l’entreprise légitime.

Incidences et risques

  • Escroquerie
  • Pertes des sommes d'argent considérables

 

Mesures

Il est très difficile d’empêcher ces tentatives de se produire. Les escrocs peuvent masquer leur identité et origine et facilement changer d'adresse courriel s’il le faut. En termes de prévention, il est vivement recommandé de mettre un accent particulier sur la sensibilisation du personnel à ces phénomènes, notamment aux postes clefs. Les règles de base sont les suivantes:

  • Ne fournir aucune information et ne procéder à aucune action lors de prises de contact semblant douteuses ou inhabituelles, même lorsque l’on est mis sous pression.
  • Contrôler quelles informations sont disponibles en ligne sur l’entreprise.
  • Les processus doivent être définis et suivis par tous et en tout temps. Par exemple, pour les transferts d’argent, une procédure de signature collective est recommandée.
 

Dernière modification 13.09.2017

Début de la page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/fr/home/themen/CEO-Fraud.html