Rules of Conduct

Besides technical measures (e.g. personal firewall, software updates, virus scanner, etc.) a decisive factor in increasing the security of the computer is the behaviour of the individual user. This includes:

Password

Both your computer and various online services require assignment of a password. Badly selected or too short - i.e. weak - passwords pose a considerable security risk. The following principles must be borne in mind when selecting a password:

  • Minimum length of 8 characters
    The password must have a minimum length of 8 characters and consist of letters, numbers and special characters. 

  • Easy to remember
    The password must be selected such that it can be remembered easily. Do not ever write passwords down. Good passwords consist of whole sentences, which include special characters. Example: « this p@ssw0rd 1 shall not forget ». 

  • Do not reuse passwords
    Use different passwords for different purposes (e.g. for different user accounts). The use of still different passwords is strongly recommended when using online services.

  • Change password regularly
    A password should be changed regularly (approx every 3 months) and any time you suspect that it is known to a third party.

  • Password checker
    Various programs are available with which you can test the strength of your password (do not use the original password but a similar one when performing such a test). 

  • Password managment programs
    These kind of programs manage the different passwords of a user. The access is secured by a « Master-Password ».

E-Mail

E-mail is one of the most popular means of communication. However, most of the electronic pests reach computers via e-mail attachments. Cautious use of e-mail contributes significantly to the security of your data and your computer. The following measures can protect you from viruses, worms, Trojan horses, spam and hoaxes:

Viruses, worms and Trojan horses

  • Caution with e-mail messages from unknown senders
    Do not trust e-mail with sender addresses you do not know. In such a case, do not open any attached documents or programs and do not follow any of the links provided in them.

  • Consider the trustworthiness of the sources
    Only open files or programs from trustworthy sources and only after checking them with an up-to-date virus scanner.

  • Caution with file names that have two extensions
    Do not open any e-mail attachments that have two extensions (e.g. picture.bmp.vbs). Do not allow yourself to be fooled by the icon of such a file. In the Windows Explorer, you should disable the option « Hide file extensions for known file types » (under Tools -> Folder Options -> View).
  • Malicious E-mail Attachment are, amongst others, the following file type:
    .app (Executable Application), .bas (BASIC Source Code), .bat (Batch Processing), .cer (Certificate File), .chm (Microsoft Compressed HTML Help), .class (JAVA Bytecode), .cmd (Command File), .com (COM Binary), .cpl (Windows Control Panel File, Microsoft), .crt (Certificate File), .der (Certificate File), .docm (Word Macro-Enabled Document file), .dotm (Macro-Enabled Word Document Template), .exe (Executable File), .iso (Archive File), .jar (Archive Java), .js (JavaScript), .jse (Encoded JavaScript), .mam (MS Access Macro), .msc (Microsoft MMC-Snap-In control file), .msh (Microsoft Shell), .msh1 (Microsoft Shell), .msh2 (Microsoft Shell), .msi (Windows installer package file), .pif (Program Information File), .potm (Macro-Enabled PowerPoint Document Template), .ppsm (Macro-Enabled PowerPoint Presentation), .pptm (Macro-Enabled PowerPoint Presentation), .ps1 (Windows PowerShell), .ps1xml (Windows PowerShell), .ps2 (Windows PowerShell), .ps2xml (Windows PowerShell), .psc1 (Windows PowerShell), .psc2 (Windows PowerShell), .rar (Archive File), .reg (Registry Key), .scr (Screensaver), .vb (VBScript file), .vbe (VBScript file), .vbs (VBScript file), .ws (Windows Script), .wsc (Windows Script Component), .wsf (Windows Script), .xlsm (Macro-Enabled Excel Workbook), .xltm (Macro-Enabled Excel Document Template), .zip (Archive File).
  • E-mail program software update
    E-mail programs can also have security holes. Check regularly for software updates for your e-mail program and install them.

Spam

  • Cautious use of e-mail address
    Disclose your e-mail address to as few people as possible and use it for important correspondence only.

  • Keep a second e-mail address
    It is recommended that a second e-mail address be used for filling in web forms, subscribing to newsletters, making entries in guest books, etc. Such an address can be obtained for free from various providers. If this address is spammed, it can then be deleted and replaced.

  • Do not respond to spam
    If spam is replied to, the sender knows that the e-mail address is valid and will continue to send spam. Spam with an « unsubscribe option » must also be treated with care. This option promises that an e-mail sent with a certain keyword will cause the sender's address to be removed from the distribution list. Autoreply or « Out of Office » messages should also be considered in this regard. They should be enabled only for messages from known addresses.

 

Surfing

When surfing the Internet, hazards lurk that could jeopardise the security of your data and your computer.  Some of these hazards and the respective protective measures are:

Viruses, worms, Trojan horses, spyware

  • Do not download unknown programs
    Do not download unknown programs (games, screensavers, etc.) from the Internet. Click on « Cancel » or « No » if an unwanted download window appears.

  • Retrieve software updates from the vendor only
    Download software updates or drivers only from the web page of the respective vendor. Next, check it with an up-to-date virus scanner.


Social engineering, phishing and fraud

  • Caution when passing on information
    Do not disclose your username or password to anyone. No serious service provider would ask you for your password (even over the telephone). This also applies if the request appears credible and features of the service provider (e.g. e-mail address, web page look, logos, corporate identity). In case of any doubt always check first with the service provider.

  • Consider the reputation of the service provider
    When shopping online, make sure you deal only with reputable providers. Send your credit card details only on web pages with guaranteed data encryption. You can tell this by a small golden padlock at the lower left edge of your browser or by the protocol used in the URL (https instead of http).

  • Log off properly
    Always use the Logoff function when leaving web applications (e.g. webmail, Internet banking).


Data protection

  • Exercise restraint when filling in forms
    Avoid disclosing personal details. This applies particularly when filling in web forms.

  • Caution when writing to newsgroups
    Remember that contributions to newsgroups, forums and guest books will remain public for years to come.


Browser settings

Every web page consists of a series of instructions written in HTML code. These instructions tell the browser (e.g. Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome) how to display the contents of the web page. While some web pages consist only of text documents and do not offer any additional functions (static pages), other pages have dynamic content. Tickers, web forms for online orders, animated images and dynamically displayed advertising banners are some examples of this.  These dynamic functions can be implemented using ActiveX Controls and JavaScript which can, unfortunately, also be abused to cause unwanted and harmful actions on the visitor's computer.

  • Restrict JavaScript
    Try to limit (or deactivate) the execution of JavaScripts (Active Scripting) via the browser settings or certain plugins. Please note, however, that many web pages will no longer function correctly if JavaScript is deactivated. If this hampers your web browsing too much, you can ease the restrictions gradually to a degree that is acceptable to you. Depending of the method you have chosen, it is also possible to enable javascript only for certain websites (white listing).

Peer2Peer

Peer-to-peer (P2) communication is communication between peers. The peer-to-peer model offers an alternative to the usual client-server model where a server offers services that are used by clients. One such example is Internet browsing: The client (Internet browser) connects to a web server and uses the services it provides (e.g. online shopping). In contrast, in the peer-to-peer model, each computer is both client and server, i.e. each offers services and, in turn, also receives services from the other computer in the peer-to-peer network. Peer-to-peer file trading in general use this type of communication. Everyone can exchange files (e.g. music or movies) with everyone else. To do this, software is usually required that can be downloaded from the Internet. As peer-to-peer file trading may provide free access to copyrighted works or pornographic content, they are controversial, and the providers of the corresponding software are the targets of complaints from the music and movie industries.

  • Caution when using peer-to-peer networks and file trading
    Besides the copyright aspects mentioned, participation in peer-to-peer file trading also involves other risks. Many of the files offered are infected with viruses or Trojan horses. The P2P software can contain spyware or adware and have security holes. Furthermore, users may inadvertently make (confidential) files accessible when taking part in this type of P2P network or file trading.

 

Last modification 14.05.2018

Top of page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/en/home/schuetzen/verhaltensregeln.html

Règles de comportement

En dehors des mesures techniques (p. ex. pare-feu personnel, mises à jour des logiciels, programme antivirus, etc.) destinées à améliorer la sécurité d'un ordinateur, c'est avant tout le comportement de chaque utilisateur qui s'avère d'une importance décisive. Le comportement adéquat comprend:

Mot de passe

Tant votre ordinateur que divers services en ligne exigent la saisie d'un mot de passe. Les mots de passe mal choisis ou trop courts - dits faibles - représentent un risque de sécurité considérable. Le choix d'un mot de passe doit respecter les principes suivants:

  • Longueur minimale de 8 signes
    La longueur minimale du mot de passe doit être de 8 signes; par ailleurs, il devrait comprendre des lettres, des chiffres ainsi que des caractères spéciaux.

  • Facile à mémoriser
    Le mot de passe doit être choisi de telle manière qu'il soit facile à mémoriser. Ne consignez pas vos mots de passe par écrit. Les meilleurs mots de passe sont des phrases entières comprenant des caractères spéciaux. Par exemple: « 1 m0t de p@$ qui va me rester !! »

  • N'utilisez pas plusieurs fois le même mot de passe
    Utilisez des mots de passe différents pour des usages différents (p. ex. pour différents comptes utilisateurs). Si vous utilisez des services en ligne, il est recommandé d'utiliser à chaque fois un mot de passe différent.                                 
  • Changez régulièrement de mot de passe
    Un mot de passe devrait être changé à intervalles réguliers (tous les trois mois à peu près) mais au plus tard quand vous présumez que des tiers pourraient en avoir eu connaissance.

  • Vérificateurs de mots de passe
    Divers programmes peuvent vous aider à tester votre mot de passe (faites ce genre de test non pas avec l'original mais avec un mot de passe construit d'une manière similaire).
  • Gestionnaires de mots de passe
    Ce type de programmes propose de gérer les différents mots de passe d'un utilisateur. L'accès au service est généralement protégé par un « master password ».
  • Authentification forte (à deux facteurs)
    Si le service utilisé le permet, protégez votre compte par un deuxième facteur d’authentification (mot de passe unique, jeton SMS, Google Authenticator, etc.)

Courrier électronique

Le courrier électronique est un moyen de communication très apprécié. La plupart des maliciels infectent en général les ordinateurs via les annexes au courrier électronique. Se montrer prudent avec le courrier électronique contribue considérablement à la sécurité de vos données et de votre ordinateur. Les mesures suivantes vous protègent contre les virus, les vers, les chevaux de Troie, les pourriels (spam) et autres canulars (hoaxes):

Virus, vers et chevaux de Troie

  • Prudence avec le courrier électronique dont l'expéditeur est inconnu
    Méfiez-vous du courrier électronique dont l'adresse d'expédition vous est inconnue. Dans un tel cas, n'ouvrez aucun document ou programme joint et ne sélectionnez aucun des liens y figurant.

  • S'assurer de la fiabilité des sources
    N'ouvrez que des fichiers ou des programmes provenant de sources dignes de confiance et ne le faites qu'après les avoir vérifié avec un logiciel antivirus actualisé.

  • Prudence avec les noms de fichiers à deux extensions
    N'ouvrez aucune annexe de courrier électronique à deux extensions (p. ex. picture.bmp.vbs). Ne vous laissez pas tromper par l'icône d'un tel fichier. Dans Explorer par exemple, désactivez l'option « Cacher les extensions des fichiers dont le type est connu ».
  • Les pièces jointes malveillantes utilisent notamment les extensions suivantes:
    .app (application exécutable), .bas (code source BASIC), .bat (traitement par lot), .cer (fichier de certificat), .chm   (fichier HTML d'aide compilé), .class (bytecode JAVA), .cmd (invite de commandes), .com (exécutable COM), .cpl (fichier du panneau de configuration Microsoft Windows), .crt (fichier de certificat), .der (fichier de certificat), .docm (document Microsoft Word avec macros), .dotm (modèle de document Microsoft Word avec macros), .exe (fichier exécutable), .iso (fichier d'archive), .jar (archive Java), .js (JavaScript), .jse (JScript chiffré), .mam (Microsoft Access Macro), .msc (fichier de la console d'administration Microsoft Windows), .msh (Microsoft Shell), .msh1 (Microsoft Shell), .msh2 (Microsoft Shell), .msi (fichier d'installation pour Windows Installer), .pif (Program Information File), .potm (présentation PowerPoint avec macros), .ppsm (présentation PowerPoint avec macros), .pptm (présentation PowerPoint avec macros), .ps1 (Windows PowerShell), .ps1xml (Windows PowerShell), .ps2 (Windows PowerShell), .ps2xml (Windows PowerShell), .psc1 (Windows PowerShell), .psc2 (Windows PowerShell), .rar (fichier d'archive), .reg (clé de registre), .scr (fichier d'écran de veille pour windows), .vb (fichier de script Visual Basic), .vbe (fichier de script Visual Basic), .vbs (fichier de script Visual Basic), .ws (fichier de script Windows), .wsc (fichier de script Windows), .wsf (fichier de script Windows), .xlsm (document Microsoft Excel avec macros), .xltm (modèle de document Microsoft Excel avec macros), .zip (fichier d'archive).
  • Mise à jour du programme de courrier électronique
    Les programmes de courrier électronique peuvent aussi présenter des lacunes de sécurité. Vérifiez régulièrement l'existence de mises à jour pour ce programme et installez-les.


Pourriel (spam)

  • Communiquer son adresse e-mail avec parcimonie
    Communiquez votre adresse électronique à un minimum de personnes et utilisez-la exclusivement pour la correspondance importante.

  • Se doter d'une deuxième adresse e-mail
    Il est indiqué d'utiliser une deuxième adresse e-mail pour remplir des formulaires sur le web, s'abonner à des bulletins, écrire dans des livres d'hôte, etc. Il est possible d'en obtenir une gratuitement auprès de divers fournisseurs. Si du pourriel est distribué à cette adresse, on peut la supprimer ou en définir une nouvelle.

  • Ne pas répondre aux pourriels
    Si vous répondez aux pourriels, l'expéditeur saura que votre adresse électronique est valable et continuera d'expédier du courrier non sollicité. Prudence aussi avec le pourriel offrant une « option de désabonnement ». On vous promet de vous tracer de la liste des destinataires si vous envoyez un courrier électronique d'une certaine teneur. On se montrera tout aussi prudent à l'égard des réponses automatiques en cas d'absence du bureau. Elles devraient être uniquement renvoyées aux expéditeurs connus.

 

Navigation

La navigation sur le web expose aussi à des dangers susceptibles d'avoir une influence sur la sécurité de vos données et de votre ordinateur. Quelques-uns d'entre eux, et les mesures de protection adaptées, font l'objet de la liste suivante:

Virus, vers, chevaux de Troie, logiciel espion

  • Ne pas télécharger de programme inconnu
    Ne téléchargez aucun programme inconnu (jeux, économiseurs d'écran, etc.) depuis Internet. Cliquez sur « Interrompre » ou sur « non » lorsqu'une fenêtre de téléchargement s'affiche sans que vous ne l'ayez voulu.

  • Se procurer les mises à jour auprès du fabricant seulement
    Téléchargez les mises à jour ou les pilotes exclusivement sur les sites web du fabricant concerné. Vérifiez-les ensuite au moyen d'un logiciel antivirus actualisé.


Ingénierie sociale, hameçonnage (phishing), escroquerie

  • Prudence en cas de transmission d'informations
    Ne donnez à personne votre nom d'utilisateur ou votre mot de passe. Aucun fournisseur sérieux ne vous demandera votre mot de passe (même par téléphone). Cette remarque vaut également lorsque la demande paraît crédible et comporte des caractéristiques d'identification évidentes du fournisseur (p. ex. adresse électronique, site Internet, etc.). En cas de doute, ne répondez pas et posez la question à votre fournisseur.

  • S'enquérir du sérieux du fournisseur
    Lors d'achats en ligne, il faut veiller à ne traiter qu'avec les fournisseurs sérieux. N'entrez votre numéro de carte de crédit que sur des pages Web utilisant un protocole sécurisé. On les reconnaît à la petite clé dorée s'affichant sur le bord inférieur gauche du navigateur ou au protocole indiqué dans l'URL (https au lieu de http).

  • Prendre congé en bonne et due forme
    Utilisez toujours la déconnexion prévue pour quitter les applications Web (p. ex. Webmail, transactions bancaires).

Protection des données

  • Etre sur ses gardes quand on remplit des formulaires web
    Évitez de disséminer des données personnelles. Cela concerne spécialement le remplissage de formulaires sur le web.

  • Prudence en rédigeant des textes dans les forums de discussion
    Pensez que ce que vous écrivez dans le cadre de groupes de discussion ou de forums, ou encore dans des livres d'hôte, reste accessible encore pendant des années.


Configuration du navigateur
Chaque page web est composée des instructions écrites en code HTML. Ces instructions indiquent au navigateur (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome p. ex.) comment représenter le contenu du site sur l'écran du client. Certains sites du web ne comprennent que des documents sans fonctions additionnelles (ce sont des pages statiques). D'autres proposent des contenus dynamiques. Citons pour exemple les textes défilants, les formulaires électroniques pour des achats en ligne, des images animées ou des bannières publicitaires dynamiques. Ces fonctions dynamiques peuvent être implémentées à l'aide d'ActiveX Controls ou de JavaScript. Ceux-ci peuvent malheureusement être détournés pour définir et exécuter des actions indésirables ou nocives pour l'ordinateur client.

  • Restreindre javascript
    MELANI recommande de limiter tant que possible l’exécution de javascript (active scripting) à travers les paramètres du navigateur ou certains modules (plugins), voire de le désactiver complètement. En cas de désactivation, il faut cependant être conscient que de nombreux sites web ne pourront plus fonctionner correctement. Si cette mesure s’avère trop contraignante, vous pouvez assouplir les limitations progressivement jusqu’à un niveau acceptable. Suivant la solution choisie, il est par ailleurs possible de définir sur quels sites web vous autorisez l’exécution de javascript (whitelisting). 

 

 

Peer2Peer

La communication entre « pairs » est appelée communication poste à poste (peer-to-peer; P2P). Ce modèle contraste avec celui du client - serveur usuel où un serveur propose des services utilisés par des clients. Un exemple est la navigation sur Internet. Le client (navigateur Internet) se connecte à un serveur Web et utilise les services mis à disposition (p. ex. achats en ligne). A l'opposé, avec le modèle poste à poste, chaque ordinateur est en même temps un client et un serveur, ce qui veut dire que chaque poste propose des services (mise à disposition de fichiers) et utilise les services d'autres ordinateurs du réseau.

Les bourses d'échange utilisent en particulier cette forme de communication. Chacun peut échanger des fichiers (p, ex. de la musique ou des films) avec tout un chacun. Pour cela, il faut en général installer un logiciel (qui peut être téléchargé depuis Internet). Comme les bourses d'échange permettent souvent d'accéder à des oeuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur ou à des contenus pornographiques, elles sont souvent controversées. Les fournisseurs de tels logiciels ont été la cible de plaintes de l'industrie musicale et cinématographique, et les possesseurs de documents de pornographie dure sont poursuivis par la police.

  • Prudence avec les réseaux poste à poste et les bourses d'échange
    En plus des aspects de protection du droit d'auteur évoqué, la participation à des bourses d'échange va de pair avec d'autres risques. Nombre de fichiers proposés sont infectés par des virus ou des chevaux de Troie. Le logiciel poste à poste peut contenir du code espion ou de la publicité non désirée, ainsi que des lacunes de sécurité. Par ailleurs, la participation à de tels réseaux et à de telles bourses d'échange fait courir le danger que l'utilisateur rende accessible par mégarde des données personnelles et ou confidentielles.

 

Dernière modification 15.08.2018

Début de la page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/fr/home/schuetzen/verhaltensregeln.html