We work with online data exchange (Office-365)

Since June 2017, so-called "Office 365" phishing e-mails have been making the rounds. With over 100 million monthly users, it is not surprising that the Office 365 account has become a popular target for attackers. MELANI has published a newsletter about it (in german, french and italian only). The attack starts with an ordinary phishing e-mail which, for example, pretends that the storage space limit has been exceeded and that you should log in to solve the problem. It goes without saying that the link provided leads to a fraudulent website asking for credentials.

In possession of Office 365 credentials, attackers can do various things. The most common scenario is to set a forwarding rule in the affected e-mail account. Then all incoming e-mail, both internal and external, are sent to an e-mail account defined by the criminals and can be read by them. Valuable targets in this approach are the e-mail accounts of companies. Information obtained in this way can be used to attack employees. Since the attacker also has access to the address book, he can very specifically write to individual employees within the company. Attackers send previously intercepted e-mails and manipulate them in such a way that employees are prompted, for example, to download a released document. To start the download, the Office 365 password (on a manipulated website) must be entered again. Fraudsters work their way step by step through the attacking company to the people they are interested in (CEO, CFO, etc.).

When the desired target person is reached, a very targeted CEO fraud is carried out with the previously stolen data. It is also conceivable that the company will be blackmailed with the stolen e-mail communication or that the stolen data will be resold to other fraudsters. This method can also be used for industrial espionage.

Recommendation:
  • If the company works in the Office 365 cloud, attackers with the stolen access data also have access to all documents of the company. Securing such data only with a user name and password is extremely negligent. Wherever possible, therefore, activate 2-factor authentication.
  • Employees should be sensitized to the fact that defined company processes and precautionary measures must be followed by everyone at all times. For wire transfers, for example, the four-eyes principle with collective signature is recommended.

 

This answer did not help us / We would like to report an incident.

 
 
 

Last modification 20.12.2018

Top of page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/en/home/meldeformular/unternehmen/Antworunternehmen/Office-365.html

Nous travaillons avec des outils de partage et de collaboration en ligne (Office 365)

Depuis juin 2017, des courriels de phishing s’en prennent à Office 365. Il n’est guère surprenant qu’avec plus de 100 millions d’utilisateurs mensuels, les comptes Office 365 soient devenus une proie attrayante pour les pirates. MELANI a publié une lettre d'information à ce sujet. L’attaque commence par un banal courriel signalant par exemple que l’espace de stockage est saturé, et que cliquer sur le lien indiqué permettra de régler le problème. Il va sans dire que ce lien conduit à un site frauduleux pour que les escrocs puissent obtenir les données d’accès de l’utilisateur piégé.

Les escrocs en possession des données d’accès à Office 365 de l’utilisateur peuvent procéder de diverses manières. Le scénario le plus fréquent consiste à introduire dans le compte piraté une règle de redirection des messages. Le courrier électronique tant interne qu’externe sera ensuite redirigé vers un compte défini par les escrocs, qui en prennent connaissance. Les comptes d’entreprises sont particulièrement prisés ici. Les informations ainsi collectées serviront à lancer des attaques contre d’autres employés. Comme les pirates ont accès au carnet d’adresses de leurs victimes, ils peuvent choisir de façon ciblée leurs correspondants. Ils envoient des messages qu’ils ont interceptés et manipulés afin de prier par exemple le destinataire de télécharger un document. Ce dernier doit d’abord réintroduire le mot de passe d’Office 365 (sur un site manipulé). Les escrocs se rapprochent ainsi, dans l’entreprise infiltrée, des personnes intéressantes pour eux (CEO, chef des finances, etc.).

Une fois le contact établi avec la personne souhaitée, l’arnaque au président (CEO-Fraud) devient possible à l’aide des données volées. La communication dérobée peut également servir de moyen de chantage, ou les données subtilisées être revendues à d’autres escrocs. Cette méthode peut aussi être utilisée à des fins d’espionnage économique.

Recomandations:

  • Grâce aux données volées, l'attaquant pourrait avoir accès à différents documents de l'entreprise. Il n'est aujourd'hui plus suffisant de protéger ce type de données uniquement par un mot de passe. Veillez donc à utiliser une authentification multifacteur lorsque celle-ci est disponible. 
  • Il convient de sensibiliser les collaborateurs à la nécessité de respecter en tout temps les processus et mesures de précaution définis par l’entreprise. En particulier, les processus concernant les paiements doivent être clairement définis et suivis en toute situation (par exemple principe des quatre yeux, signature collective, processus définis selon le système de contrôle interne).
 

Dernière modification 20.12.2018

Début de la page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/fr/home/meldeformular/unternehmen/Antworunternehmen/Office-365.html