Business email compromise (BEC) or transfer fraud

Business email compromise or transfer fraud is a type of scam where fraudsters search for existing electronic invoices in compromised email accounts of company employees or accounts of an online collaboration platform, give them a different IBAN and resend them. In recent years, fraudsters have increasingly assumed the identity of suppliers, external business partners or subcontractors and sent invoices with modified IBANs to their customers, partners or subsidiaries.

Compromising an online data exchange platform often presents criminals with all the information they need on a silver platter. The stolen credentials also give the attackers access to all company documents. For example, they can even search for information in the calendar (meetings with suppliers or partners) to create a suitable cover story.

Companies that regularly transfer large sums of money to foreign invoice recipients are the main targets. Not only is the profit particularly lucrative in these cases, but the transfer to the criminals' account, which is typically foreign, is less conspicuous.

However, fraud attempts in which the attacker poses as a person from within the target company (CEO fraud) are still common, including simple attempts to slip through forged invoices or pretend in correspondence that the account number has changed.
Despite, or perhaps because of, its simplicity, BEC is a financially lucrative form of cyberfraud.

Effects and risks

  • Fraud
  • Loss of substantial amounts of money
 
Recommendations
  • Ensure employees are aware that all processes and security measures defined by the company must be complied with at all times. 
  • In particular, all transfers of funds should be carried out according to the dual control principle with joint signatures. Extra caution is required for any announcements concerning account changes. 
  • Activate two-factor authentication on online collaboration platforms.  
 

Specialist staff
Last modification 11.06.2020

Top of page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/en/home/themen/bec-ueberweisungsbetrug.html

Business E-Mail Compromise (BEC) oder Überweisungsbetrug

Man spricht von Business E-Mail Compromise oder Überweisungsbetrug, wenn Betrüger in kompromittierten E-Mail-Kontos von Unternehmensmitarbeitern oder Konten einer Online-Kollaborationsplattform nach elektronischen Rechnungen suchen, diese mit einer anderen IBAN versehen und erneut zustellen. In den letzten Jahren haben Betrüger zunehmend die Identität von Lieferanten, externen Geschäftspartnern oder von Subunternehmen angenommen und Rechnungen mit abgeänderter IBAN an deren Kunden, Partner oder Nebenstelle geschickt.

Oftmals liefert die Kompromittierung einer Online-Datenaustauschplattform Kriminellen die notwendigen Informationen auf dem Silbertablett. Mit den gestohlenen Zugangsdaten haben die Angreifer auch Zugriff auf sämtliche Dokumente der Firma. Sie können zum Beispiel auch im Kalender nach Informationen suchen (Treffen mit Lieferanten oder mit Partner), um eine passende Geschichte zu kreieren.

Im Visier sind dabei besonders Firmen, welche regelmässig grosse Beträge an ausländische Rechnungsempfänger überweisen. Einerseits ist der Profit in diesen Fällen besonders lukrativ, andererseits fällt so die Transaktion auf das (typischerweise ausländische) Konto der Kriminellen weniger auf.

Aber auch Betrugsversuche, bei denen sich der Angreifer als eine Person innerhalb des Ziel-Unternehmens ausgibt (sogenannte «CEO Fraud»), sind weiterhin üblich bis hin zu simplen Versuchen, gefälschte Rechnungen unterzujubeln oder in einen Schreiben vorzutäuschen, die Kontonummer habe geändert.
BEC ist trotz oder gerade wegen der einfachen Durchführung eine finanziell lukrative Art des Cyberbetrugs.

Auswirkungen und Gefahren

  • Betrug
  • Verlust von erheblichen Geldsummen
 
Massnahmen
  • Sensibilisieren Sie die Mitarbeitenden dahingehend, dass alle vom Unternehmen definierten Prozesse und Sicherheitsmassnahmen jederzeit einzuhalten sind.
  • Insbesondere sollten alle Geldtransfers nach dem Vier-Augen-Prinzip mit Kollektivunterschriften erfolgen. Ankündigungen von Kontoänderungen ist besondere Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken. 
  • Aktivieren Sie auf Online-Kollaborationsplattform die 2-Faktor-Authentisierung. 
 

Letzte Änderung 11.06.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/de/home/themen/bec-ueberweisungsbetrug.html